President Mohamed Nasheed has today established Department of Heritage under the Ministry of Tourism, Arts and Culture.

Department of Heritage will undertake the functions of protecting national heritage and promoting culture previously mandated to the Ministry.

Administration of National Museum and Boduthakurufaanu Memorial Centre in Utheem of Haa Alif Atoll is transferred to the department.

Following the change, National Archives will also be run by Department of Heritage.