Uz Hussain Mohamed Latheef has sworn in as Vice President of Maldives.

Under Article 114 of the Constitution of Maldives, H.E. Dr Mohamed Muizzu has sworn in as the 8th President of the Republic of Maldives. The President took his oath of office at the Special Assembly of the People’s Majlis held at the Republic Square this evening.

The Chief Justice, Hon. Uz Ahmed Muthasim Adnan, administered the oath.

Following his oath-taking, President Dr Muizzu signed the Instrument of Oath. The Chief Justice and the Speaker of the Parliament, H.E. Mohamed Aslam, signed as witnesses.

President Dr Muizzu's acceptance of the oath of office was followed by a 21-gun salute and the National Anthem.

H.E. Uz Hussain Mohamed Latheef was sworn into office at today’s ceremony, with the oath administered by the Chief Justice. Vice President Uz Hussain signed the Instrument of Oath after.

The Presidential Inauguration ceremony was attended by former President H.E. Ibrahim Mohamed Solih, former President H.E. Mohamed Nasheed, and former President H.E. Dr. Mohamed Waheed.

Also in attendance at the inauguration were high-level foreign delegates and several invitees.