The government has declared, in a directive, its new working hours to be from 8am to 4pm, which will come into effect on 1 February 2009. The directive further states:

 There will be a lunch time break of one hour from 12 pm to 1pm.
 There must not be a disruption to the government services during the lunch time break.
 Employees who will not be able to take break between 12 pm and 1 pm will be able to do so from 1 pm to 2 pm.
 Employees working on shift duties will work according to their duty roster
 Effective from 1 February, political appointees should report to work before 8.30am.
 Official working hours of the government during Ramadan would be from 9am to 1.30pm.