Cabinet has today decided to ratify the SAARC (South Asian Association for Regional Cooperation) “Protocol pf Accession of Islamic Republic of Afghanistan to Agreement on South Asian Free Trade Area (SAFTA)”. Protocol was signed by all the member states of SAARC on 3 August 2008, in Colombo to enable the accession of Afghanistan to the SAFTA agreement.

Afghanistan joined the regional organisation on 3 April 2007, during the 14th SAARC Summit held in New Delhi.

During today’s meeting, member of the cabinet also discussed the cabinet decision on 8 December 2009 on the measures to be taken on the islands leased for resort development, and which are behind schedule. Members decided to defer the implementation of these measures until the passage of bills, related to the issue, being considered by the People’s Majlis.