President Mohamed Nasheed has reconstituted the National Security Council. The members of the Council include:

1. Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces
2. Vice President
3. Minster of defence and National Security
4. Minister of Foreign Affairs
5. Minister of Home Affairs
6. Attorney General
7. Chief of Defence Force

The Cabinet Secretary of the President’s Office and the Commissioner of Police will also participate in the council members. According to Article 139(c) of the Armed Forces Act, the Commander-in-Chief of the Armed Forces has the discretion to appoint temporary members to the National Security Council.

Also as stated in the Article 13(a) of the Act, the Commander in Chief of the Armed Forces will chair the council meetings.