President Mohamed Nasheed has today ratified the Decentralisation Bill, which was passed by the People’s Majlis on 28 April 2010. Following ratification, the bill has been published in the Government Gazette.

The Decentralisation Act, as stipulated in chapter eight of the constitution, specifies administrative offices, posts, atoll and island councils, responsibilities of the councils, and other guidelines required for decentralised administration.

One of the key objectives of decentralisation is to empower citizens through strengthening local democracy and public accountability, besides improving the socio-economic and cultural development of the people. Decentralisation will enhance delivery of public services by bringing services closer to the people.